About us

Our mission

The Independent Anti-Corruption Advisory Committee (CCIA) was established in June 2021 by Presidential Decree as a joint independent international and national body. Its main purpose is to analyze systemic corruption issues that cut across Moldovan institutions and improve implementation of anti-corruption measures by the relevant parties.

The Committee performs research based on reliable facts and sources, then publishes its recommendations to optimize the effectiveness of the efforts of the Republic of Moldova in leading the fight against corruption. Subsequently, the CCIA assesses the implementation of said measures by state actors and stakeholders and renders the findings public.

The CCIA’s mission is to strengthen Moldova’s understanding of general and specific issues with respect to large-scale corruption and enhance its capacity to take appropriate action for greater impact on the life of the citizens of the Republic of Moldova.

CCIA Members

  • James Wasserstrom

    CCIA co-chair

    James Wasserstrom is a long-time anti-corruption expert and activist. He led the fight against corruption in public utilities for four years as senior staff at the UN Administration Mission in Kosovo; five years in Afghanistan as the US Embassy’s sole Advisor on Anti-Corruption; three years in Ukraine as founder and co-chair of an anti-corruption commission there, and currently at the CCIA as founder and co-chair. He is also a whistleblower, having uncovered alleged criminality inside the UN in Kosovo and its concealment by UN headquarters in New York; retaliation by the UN led to his termination.

  • Tamara Razin

    CCIA co-chair

    Tamara Razin is an expert in macroeconomics and international finance. During 14 years at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), she contributed to various projects in external sector statistics, including authoring several working papers, drafting manuals and compilation guides. She conducted multiple technical assistance missions to countries from Africa, Asia, Europe and Middle East, and authored the new architecture of IMF training. Previously, Tamara Razin worked at the National Bank of Moldova, where she oversaw the development of the Moldovan banking sector.

  • Drago Kos

    CCIA member

    Drago Kos is currently the Chair of the OECD Working Group on Bribery in International Business Transactions. Between 2011 and 2015, he was the International Commissioner and Chair of the Joint Independent Anti-Corruption Monitoring and Evaluation Committee (MEC) in Afghanistan. Between 2003 and 2011 he was the Chairman of the Council of Europe’s Group of States against Corruption (GRECO). In his own country, Slovenia, Drago Kos was the first Chairman on the Commission for the Prevention of Corruption in the period from 2004 to 2010. He was also a FIFA/UEFA referee and he still is a FIFA/UEFA referee observer.

  • Laura Ștefan

    CCIA member

    Laura Ștefan is an international expert in judicial reform, anti-corruption and anti-money-laundering. She has served as an expert for the European Commission, the United Nations Development Programme, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the Council of Europe and the World Bank. Her professional experience spans over 20 years both in the public and in the private sectors. In 2011, the European Commission nominated her as a member of an Expert Group on Corruption. Between 2005 and 2007 Laura Ștefan was a Director in the Romanian Ministry of Justice responsible for anti-corruption policies. She is a member of CCIA since 2021.

  • Nadejda Hriptievschi

    CCIA member

    Nadejda Hriptievschi is a lawyer, specialized in human rights. Her with primary areas of expertise include judiciary, legal aid and non-discrimination. Since April 2022, Nadejda is a member of the Pre-Vetting Commission, Republic of Moldova. Nadejda is a founder and was Director of Programs at Legal Resources Center from Moldova since 2010 to May 2022. Nadejda served as consultant for different national and international organizations. Between September 2020 and December 2021, she was a member and Co-Rapporteur of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Experts on Combating Hate Speech and between 2013 and 2018 a member of the European Commission against Racism and Discrimination.

  • Laurențiu Hadîrcă

    CCIA member

    Laurențiu Hadîrcă is an experienced lawyer with demonstrated history of working on human rights, legal reform, anti-corruption, conflict prevention and international affairs in the Balkans, Central and Eastern Europe, South Caucasus, and Central Asia. He has over 15 years of professional and progressively responsible legal experience with different international organizations, including the UN, the OSCE and the EU, in both field missions (in R. Moldova, Kosovo/Serbia, Albania) as well as central institutions (in Warsaw and The Hague). Laurențiu Hadîrcă has a strong legal and policy background with decades-long professional experience, including in conflict-affected areas, as well as academic credentials from several institutes and universities.

CCIA Secretariat

  • Ion Guzun

    Director Secretariat, CCIA

    Ion Guzun is the director of the Secretariat of the Independent Anti-Corruption Advisory Committee, member of Board of Selection and Career of Judges of the Superior Council of Magistracy, chairman of the Pardoning Commission by the Presidency of the Republic of Moldova, vice-chairman of the Amnesty-International Moldova’s Councils and member of the Administration Board of the TV8 Channel. Prior to that, he was legal adviser to the Legal Resources Centre from Moldova and at the Moldovan Institute for Human Rights, member of the Advisory Council for the Prevention of Torture, and a program assistant for United Nations Development Programm in Moldova. Between 2020 – 2021, Mr Guzun was a Fulbright Fellow receiving his master's degree at the University of Connecticut School of Law (USA) and in 2014, he had an internship at the Brennan Center for Justice at New York School of Law. Mr Guzun Ion graduated from the Law Faculty of State University in 2005 and received his LLM in private law at the same university in 2006.

Independent Anti-Corruption Advisory Committee